Anhui Medical University

One of the highly reputed and key provincial university of China is Anhui Medical University (AMU). It is located at Hefei, in Anhui province of China. This is a medical institution with rich history and it started its journey way back in the year 1926. Dongnan Medical College was the earlier name of this university and later in 1952 it was renamed as Anhui Medical College. After getting the required approval from National Committee of Education In June, 1996 it got its final name of AMU.

Educational options in Anhui Medical University :

This University is now having 25 teaching institutions and in it includes School of International Education. In total there are 32 specialized studies which are conducted here in undergraduate studies. Aside to under graduate programs this University is having authorization to conduct 3 post-doctorial scientific research programs, which are designed to grant doctorial degrees to students in 27 specialties and master degrees to students of 27 specialties. AMU is having under it 5 direct affiliated hospitals with more than 10000 beds, apart from 6 other non-direct affiliated hospitals. In recent time, Anhui Medical University managed to prove itself best and much ahead of other provincial universities based on total amount of grants received from Natural Science Foundation of China. The Programs are available for both Chinese and international students. Syllabus of each specialty based on International standard requirements, and the degree awarded by AMU is recognized worldwide. This university is ranked 23rd in the list of top 100 Universities of China. The university is allowing international medical students to complete their internship either in home country or even in recognized medical centers of China. The minimum duration of internship is 48 weeks or 1 year.  For eligible candidates Scholarship is also available.

Anhui Medical University Campus:

The University is having two campuses. One is the main campus while the other one is southern campus. The total accumulated area which is covered by the campus is 860000 square meters with a floor space close to 700 thousand Sq.m. The campus is situated on South No.1 Ring-Road of Hefei.  There are 18000 students along with 160 international students. AMU library is having a wide collection of 720000 volumes and 20000 varieties of periodical as well as journals both physical and e-journals.


Anhui Medical University is Recognized by WHO, CMC and CSC and marked by China Ministry of Education to empower it to enroll International students for admission in Fully English Medium Medical programs.

Anhui Medical University structure:

University structure consists of 1) School of Public health, 2) College of Stomatology, 3) College of Health Administration 4) College of Pharmacy,5) College of Nursing, 6) College of basic medicine and 7) College of Humanities and Social Science.

About the MBBS program:

On successful completion of the MBBS in China course, degree is awarded to the students. The program is of 6 years duration. Scholarship is available  for best candidates. Masters programs include Basic Medicine, Clinical Medicine, Public Health and Preventive Medicine, Pharmacology and Traditional Chinese Pharmacology. All master’s program are of 3 years duration.